The Thirteenth Court of Appeals serves the Corpus Christi and Edinburg, Texas area. The court consists of six Justices hearing cases out of twenty counties.


The Thirteenth Court of Appeals was created in 1963 by amendment to Article 1817, V.T.C.S., pursuant to authority granted by Article 5, Section 1, Texas Constitution. The Court is composed of a Chief Justice and five justices. This Court has intermediate appellate jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts; in civil cases where the judgment exceeds $100, exclusive of costs, and in criminal cases, except in post-conviction writs of habeas corpus and where the death penalty has been imposed. The Thirteenth Court of Appeals serves a twenty-county area and maintains offices in Corpus Christi and Edinburg. 


Counties Served

  • Aransas

  • Bee

  • Calhoun

  • Cameron

  • De Witt

  • Goliad

  • Gonzales

  • Hidalgo

  • Jackson

  • Kenedy

  • Kleberg

  • Lavaca

  • Live Oak

  • Matagorda

  • Nueces

  • Refugio

  • San Patricio

  • Victoria

  • Wharton

  • Willacy

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

© 2017 Political Advertisement paid for by the Justice Dori Contreras for Chief Justice Campaign.

Dru LaMantia-Treasurer 601 Hobbs Drive, McAllen, Texas